home - list categories - search - links - about - RSS Feed 
 
 Pages: 1 2  >  >>

REVIEWS

January 28th, 2010

As most people probably know by now... Apple announced their newest "game changer". And it's the Apple iPad. If you don't know it's a tablet computer, but running the iPhoneOS. Now the Apple fan boys are going to buy these in droves, as well as a fair amount of casual consumers. What do I think? Thanks for asking!

Read more...

2 comments | reviews::gadget | Thursday, Jan 28th 2010, 01:02:18 PM

January 22nd, 2007

Pan's Labyrinth (aka El Laberinto del Fauno) is a movie by Guillarmo del Toro (who also did Hellboy, Blade II, The Devil's Backbone). It's in limited release as it's entirely in Spanish with subtitles. The movie follows a young imaginative girl, Ofelia, as her and her mother journey into a garrison in 1940's fascist Spain to meet her new step father, a sadistic, proud military commander in charge of rooting out rebels.

Read more...

1 comments | reviews::movies | Monday, Jan 22nd 2007, 02:25:10 PM

November 20th, 2006

Casino Royale posted by bichen
I have to admit, I'm not really a James Bond fan. But then again I've never seen Goldeneye which is supposedly one of the best ones. But here is Casino Royale with a brand new Bond, Daniel Craig. I think he did a good job, but I can't get over how old his face looks. He looks about 10 years older than I would expect Bond to look. But other than that, he was quite good in my opinion. I don't get all the hooplah over him being blond. (Apparently some Bond fans are going into a frenzy that they picked a blond Bond. He's not even that obviously blond).

The plot revolves around an early Bond, in fact Bond has just gotten his 007 status and he's off after a banker to the terrorists.

Anyways, it's pretty good. The reason I liked it so much more than the other Bond I've seen is because it's actually... "reasonable". The Bonds I've seen have been horribly over the top for the sake of "great action". Personally I thought it got to the point where it became stupid. This one doesn't go there.

There's also a lack of gadgets in this movie which will disappoint a lot of people. I'm actually glad they didn't have any because in the other Bond movies I've seen, they seem to focus more on the gadgets than the rest of the movie.

The movie did drag a bit in places though (where you know something is going to happen but it just doesn't for way too long), but overall I thought this movie was quite good. A HUGE, GIGANTIC, ENORMOUS (you get the idea) over the crap like The World is Not Enough. Might disappoint fans who are expecting absurd action and gadgets though.
0 comments | reviews::movies | Monday, Nov 20th 2006, 11:40:31 AM

November 13th, 2006

Versus posted by bichen
Versus is a Japanese action movie. The plot goes something like two prisoners, Prisoner KSC2-303 and another who really isn't important, escape and meet up with a group of assassins who are supposed to help them escape outside a magic forest. The assassins also have a kidnapped girl. Prisoner KSC2-303 doesn't like the idea of kidnapping women so there's a fight, Prisoner KSC2-303 kills one of the assassins and flees with the girl into the magic forest... full of zombies. Lots of fighting and then the leader of the assassins come, more fighting, etc.

The movie is relatively interesting. There's a lot of over the top performances, (especially one of the assassins) and a lot of effort into making it "cool", but if you ask me they tried too hard. In that sense it was a bad movie because they were trying way too hard it became almost comical. Add on the fact that they tacked on a really lame ending and it kind of ruined it, if you ask me. The story and action plays out very much like a Japanese comic though with quite a bit of blood.

My opinion is it's an interesting premise mired by trying to be too stylish and a really lame ending.
0 comments | reviews::movies | Monday, Nov 13th 2006, 01:05:53 PM

Borat posted by bichen
Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan, if you haven't seen it yet, is Sacha Baron Cohen's movie where he pretends to be Borat, a Kazakh reporter. Borat comes to America and his misconceptions and foriegness creates funny situations. Of course, Borat isn't "real", he's just a character, but almost all the Americans in the movie don't know that. So in a way, it's like Jackass and a lot of people unintentionally make themselves look dumb.

The movie is very funny and very wrong. It's a movie you really should watch once (not with kids or your parents). I dunno if I'd watch it again, but I thought it was hilarious when I did watch it. The wrestling scene is quite disturbing. There's more than one wrestling scene and if you watch it, you'll know exactly what scene I'm talking about. Haha.
5 comments | reviews::movies | Monday, Nov 13th 2006, 12:50:59 PM

High Tension posted by bichen
High Tension is a French thriller (the gore level can easily qualify it as a horror movie though) that came out a little while back. It's also known as "Switchblade Romance" elsewhere. I have to say it's a well acted, well filmed movie.

It's basically about two women, Marie and Alex, who are going to spend sometime at Alex's house. Anyways in the middle of the night, a man comes into the house and proceeds to kill Alex's parents and kid brother. He takes Alex captive. Marie manages to hide during the whole encounter and escape the notice of the man. The man then takes Alex away in his car and Marie follows, trying to save Alex.

The film does a great job in creating tension and it's quite bloody and violent. So it's really good in that way but unfortunately they tried to be a little too clever with the plot and it ruined the movie for me. Most reviews I've read of it agreed. So bottom line, great on thrills, lots of gore, but the plot becomes really really dumb and annoying.
0 comments | reviews::movies | Monday, Nov 13th 2006, 12:49:53 PM

June 6th, 2006

Spider Forest posted by bichen
I saw Spider Forest this weekend. Spider Forest is a South Korean murder mystery/drama. It was never released in the US theaters, but you can rent it from Blockbuster or where ever. Tartan Pictures is releasing a bunch of "Extreme" Korean movies. Personally, I like the idea of the movie, but I think it really needs some help.

Read more...

0 comments | reviews::movies | Tuesday, Jun 6th 2006, 01:07:35 PM

June 2nd, 2006

So I saw one of the 13 entries of the Masters of Horror series. The One I saw was "Incident On and Off a Mountain Road." In my humble opinion, it was ok. Nothing great, but entertaining enough I suppose. According to my roommate, it wasn't as good as the other couple episodes he saw.

Read more...

0 comments | reviews::movies | Friday, Jun 2nd 2006, 12:07:19 PM

April 24th, 2006

Audition posted by bichen
Image Hosted by ImageShack.usAudition is a J-Horror (Japanese horror) movie by Takashi Miike (pronounced "me kay"). It's worthy of a watch if you're a horror fan. Pass on this movie if sadistically gruesome acts bother you and if you want a fast paced movie. Most of the movie seems to be a romantic drama until it takes a decisively different turn in the last part of the movie.

Read more...

0 comments | reviews::movies | Monday, Apr 24th 2006, 01:19:44 AM

April 22nd, 2006

Image Hosted by ImageShack.usOk, having seen the movie now and being a HUGE fan of the games, I have to say I cannot recommend watching the movie. Visually it's pretty good. Story wise; not so good. Scariness? Very low. It was quite disappointing. Definitely don't pay full price for this movie. The review is kinda long and there's some spoilers in there (but I note where the spoilers come in).

Read more...

0 comments | reviews::movies | Saturday, Apr 22nd 2006, 01:58:02 PM

February 28th, 2006

Well, I finished quickly skimming through the Chronicles of Narnia. It was a decent series. A bit too childish though in my opinion, but still a pretty decent read. It is very heavy on the Christian allusions though in my opinion. It may bug some people. By childish though I really mean the way the characters act and how the story pans out. It's pretty obvious it's intended for a young audience. But anyways, I thought I'd post an abridged summary of each book. :) Obviously huge spoilers abound, but if you were curious about each book but didn't want to read it, here you go.

There's two orders to the series... The order in which they were published and the "chronological" order in terms of the story. I'll just summarize in the "chronological" order.

Read more...

1 comments | reviews::books | Tuesday, Feb 28th 2006, 01:40:47 PM

February 27th, 2006

Image Hosted by ImageShack.usNight Watch is a Russian movie about vampires (kinda). I guess it's kinda similar to Underworld, except the two sides are the same type of beings known as "Others". One just chooses to fight for "light" the other "dark". This is slated to be a trilogy and the second one, Day Watch, apparently just came out in Russia in January of 2006 and was the top of the box office. It's released in the US in limited theaters and it's subtitled (the opening and ending are voiced over in English, but the rest is subtitled).

Read more...

0 comments | reviews::movies | Monday, Feb 27th 2006, 11:27:29 AM

October 23rd, 2005

Stay posted by bichen
Image Hosted by ImageShack.usStay is a strange thriller about a psychiatrist named Sam (Ewan McGregor) who is living with his artist girlfriend Lila (Naomi Watts). He takes on a temporary patient, Henry (Ryan Gosling) who is going crazy. Henry tells Sam that he will kill himself in 3 days and Sam tries to stop him. While this is happening strange events start occuring in Sam's life.

Read more...

0 comments | reviews::movies | Sunday, Oct 23rd 2005, 09:53:29 PM

October 2nd, 2005

Serenity posted by bichen
Image Hosted by ImageShack.usSerenity is a sci-fi movie with a little western feel. It follows the short lived TV series Firefly which was created and written by Joss Whedon. It has gotten a shitload of press because Joss Whedon fans, and Firefly fans are pretty rabid.

The movie takes place in the future, in a world where the Alliance controls most of the empire with the exception of "Reavers". Reavers are a large group of insane people who frequently raid places, grab people alive and take their time to rape and feast on those they capture. The main cast is the crew of Serenity, a spaceship. The crew of Serenity are outlaws who do random illegal jobs. On their ship are the Tams... River and Simon. There's something strange about River though and the Alliance wants her. Badly...

Read more...

3 comments | reviews::movies | Sunday, Oct 2nd 2005, 02:43:45 PM

July 22nd, 2005

So I bought Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince on Monday and I finished it yesterday. So the big question is... was it good? Because you know you'll read it if you read the previous books. Even if this book was crap, you might as well read it and the next one to finish the series.

Read more...

3 comments | reviews::books | Friday, Jul 22nd 2005, 02:12:33 AM

CONTROL PANEL


Not Logged In

To access your control panel, please login.
If you do not have an account, please register.

LAST COMMENTED
*i'll have to look it up. by bichen in Tweet from @bichen on 02/18/2011 at 18:33
*and she made tron! :) by bichen in Tweet from @bichen on 02/10/2011 at 18:05
*the low girl/guy ratio actually kinda paid off by cacheng in Tweet from @bichen on 12/21/2010 at 21:41
*nice!!! by cacheng in Tweet from @bichen on 12/17/2010 at 00:38
*wow. by bichen in Tweet from @cacheng on 07/20/2010 at 16:32
*the ocean dome by bichen in 5 crazy ways that man has replaced nature
*yeah i agree by bichen in Creepiest Places on Earth
*so wise by cacheng in 14 Marriage Lesson Signs
*there's no crazy teeth tho by bichen in 10 Incredible Earth Scars
*haha these are awesome. by bichen in Ads for Porn network Amour (SFW)

RANDOM READING

Awesome Advertisment (KY Jelly) by bichen
Thursday, Nov 17th 2005, 07:05:20 PM
0 comments | images::funny